Skip to content

I Survived Nomophobia

05/19/2014

129841-129416Over the weekend I had a case of Nomophobia. It  was unpleasant but it looks like I’ll be ok.

Nomophobia is the fear of being out of mobile phone contact. The term is an abbreviation for “no-mobile-phone phobia”.

My run in with Nomophobia was mild as I wasn’t traveling, I was with my spouse who had her phone and I had a pretty good idea where I left my phone. Just the same I had it.

Apparently I’m not the only one who’s had a run-in with Nomophobia. According to Psychology Today the fear of being without your smartphone affects 40% of the U.S. population.

Perhaps it’s wrong to call this a phobia – but I think if fits.

A phobia is generally a ‘irrational fear’ and in my case it was mostly irrational. Just the same the pang of anxiety associated with being without my mobile in this brave new connected world is perhaps an understandable feeling.

Irrational or not being with our phones at all times is an obsession that occupies every waking minute. Other research points to nearly two-thirds of us suffering from Nomophobia.

If you think you may suffer from nomophobia – or ‘no mobile phone phobia’ – then the warning signs are:

  • An inability to ever turn your phone off
  • Obsessively checking for missed calls, emails and texts
  • Constantly topping up your battery life
  • Being unable to go to the bathroom without taking your phone in with you

Guilty as charged. For a laugh – add the words “Just in case…” to the end of each of the four bullet points above. That’s where the irrational thinking comes in.

I cringe at the thought of what new phobias will evolve as technology wearables begin to penetrate our lives. How will we cope without our Google glasses and smart watches. I suspect not well.

Until then keep tabs on your phone. It will make your day less phobic.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

