Skip to content

Groupon CEO Blogs About Super Bowl Spots

02/08/2011

Monday Groupon CEO Andrew Mason wrote on his blog GROUPBLOGPON his explanation of why the company ran its (unintentionally controversial) Super Bowl ads.

Frankly, Mason shouldn’t have to write this post — these commercials really aren’t that big of a deal.

But it’s probably the right move to quiet down some of the critics by posting it. (And remind everyone that Groupon actually does good stuff for the world, too.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/08/2011 8:37 am

    Rick,

    This was also the topic of my blog this morning as well. While I’m not in love with the ‘creative’, my biggest problem is with the results (or lack there of). He, as a neophyte advertiser, trusted a big name agency to give him something to drive his business, what he got was a great big pile of ‘not good.’

    Harvey

  2. 02/08/2011 9:01 am

    HB, I read your blog “My View From The Shore” today and I agree with your perspective.

    But I really dig your ROI analysis. Funny how metrics cut to the chase.

  3. 02/09/2011 4:53 pm

    I’ve never been one to shy away from controversy, but if the results don’t come along with it, then what’s the point?

Trackbacks

  1. Facebook + Hookers = The Perfect Super Bowl Ad Concept « ThoughtTech – On The Horizon

Leave a comment