Skip to content

Minnesota Nurses Need Branding ICU

05/17/2010

Fourteen Minneapolis & St. Paul hospitals and their 12,00o nurses are locked in the most contentious bargaining in 25 years. The nurses vote this week to authorize a strike – that could come as early as June 1st.

It’s not a big deal unless you are: (a) a nurse, (b) a hospital administrator, or (c) every individual who’s ever spent an overnight in a hospital and experienced what nurses do.

By the grace of God I have little first-hand hospital experience. I have, however, witnessed the miracles and TLC performed by nurses for friends and family. The reassuring manner, information conduit, consistent presence, deep knowledge/experience nurses regularly dispense is inspiring.

So here’s the problem. To garner support for the nurses cause the Minnesota Nurses Association has placed around the Twin Cities area “yard sale” signs stating, “WE CARE. FOR YOU”.

Ugh!

My dry cleaner cares for me. My vet cares for me (after my dog, of course!).

Nurses – well that’s another deal entirely. They save lives. Every day. Without fanfare. Often under the radar. Sometimes literally and sometimes figuratively. Either way – invaluable.

So, Minnesota Nurses Association I say change your “yard signs” pronto. The edge nurses enjoy is unique and profound. Put more energy into what is that nurses really “do”.

Try this on for size…“We Save Lives Every Day – Is Tomorrow Your Day?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/26/2010 4:48 pm

    this is definitely true but would be seen as “threatening” by those that do not support us. I thank you for your support & if we do have to strike—even for x1 day, please come walk with us!!

  2. Husband of Allina Nurse permalink
    05/26/2010 7:52 pm

    I think this is a great slogan and much better than then we care for you. I do belive that hispitals are doing a beter job of PR which is amazing despite thePR spokeswoman they let go two weeks ago for her checkered past. Perhaps a PR fight is against most nurses nurturing nature however they have to realize that a significant amount of support will be engendered by the public. I wish the nurses well.

  3. Stephanie Wells permalink
    05/27/2010 12:48 am

    I thought he signs should say”Minnesota Nurses…… fighting big business on your behalf – but I think your idea much better. I love the”is today your day”

Leave a Reply

