Skip to content

Texting + Driving = Killer App

03/24/2010

My post “Banned In Denver” received the highest traffic of my young blogs career.

Unfortunately…I don’t know why!

Was it the headline? Not sure. Perhaps the presence of “banned” brought on curiosity. The previous big hit was “Bret Favre – Marketing Maven?”. I’m not the brightest bulb in the fixture but I sure don’t see a correlation between the two.

One of the comments from “Banned” I received was poignant. He said, “They’re also making a huge assumption that the drivers will look up from texting long enough to see the boards in the first place, but that’s another chapter in the overload story we probably don’t want to open here.”

So, Tim, I’ll open that can of worms right now.

We’ve all done it. Talking on cell while driving. It’s replaced eye liner application and nose picking as the dumbest things you can do while driving. The Washington Post wrote on 01/13/10 “28 Percent of Accidents Involve Talking, Texting on Cell Phones” The vast majority of those crashes, 1.4 million annually, are caused by cellphone conversations, and 200,000 are blamed on text messaging, according to the report from the council, a nonprofit group recognized by congressional charter as a leader on safety.

Watch this and weep.

I still say the LED billboards are less distracting than texting to someone, “En route. Be late 10 mins. C U There.”

I’ve written that text while driving. I won’t do it again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 03/24/2010 7:10 am

    It’s amazing that we’re so quick to jump all over Toyota for less than 100 deaths (still unacceptable, especially if it’s due to corporate negligence) when thousands are dying from this practice. Apparently it’s my right as an individual to do something stupid, killing myself or others. God forbid government get involved and ban this!

Leave a Reply

